Mark your calendars now for the Amelia Island Museum of History’s most anticipated event of the year. The 8th Annual Holiday Home Tour will take place on Friday, December 5 and Saturday, December 6 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
A high point of the Fernandina Beach festive yuletide season, the Holiday Home Tour will showcase five vintage private homes in the Historic District decorated by professional florists and designers. Free trolley service will transport guests to the featured homes while costumed carolers and characters from Fernandina’s colorful past return them to the Victorian era.
Houses on the Tour:
326 South 7th Street: This 1920s frame cottage with Tudor-revival influence is a tribute to the skills and determination of a DIY owner who took on ten years worth of projects even winning a Best Redo Living Space from This Old House magazine in 2012 for turning the unfinished attic into a lofty master suite. Owner Lynn Anderson reflects, “Too much love and hard work have gone into creating a home that is perfect for my needs for me to ever want to leave.”
510 Beech Street: Constructed c.1873, this was originally the residence of John A. Ferreira, an engineer for the Florida Railroad and its successor lines. Five generations of the Ferreira-Sturges families built on additions and created memories at this home. A one-and-a-half story frame vernacular, the house is noted for its gable returns, transom over the entrance, arched glazed door panels and verandah. Current owners are Charles and Angela Conway.
909 Atlantic Avenue: Our newest “vintage” house, the Hunter Plantation Home is Georgian-Southern Plantation in style and character with white columns, symmetrical shape and sprawling porches. The grand features and spacious scale suggest the charm and genteel lifestyle of the Old South. Completed in January of 2014 by builder Bryan Lendry, it contains many authentic historic elements including a front door dating to 1876. Kenneth and Teresa Hunter are the owners.
401 South 6th Street: This c.1903 home is an excellent example of local frame vernacular noteworthy for its large cross-gable and recessed porch with turned ornamentation. Current owner Elsbeth Smith was one of the first female tug boat captains and was featured in the New Yorker magazine. Expect to see family antiques and artifacts from the tug’s voyages around the world.
15 North 4th Street: Known as Railroad House, this home has had many transformations. Built c.1857 as a simple shotgun-plan cottage for workers on Yulee’s Florida Railroad, it has served as a law office, boutique, bookstore, hair salon, pharmaceutical company, reception/booking center for the Greyfield Inn and perhaps most notably as the Tabor House bed and breakfast in 1991 with 2000 square feet added to the original 1100 square feet. Paula and Laneya Warren are now the owners.
Available starting the first week of October at the Amelia Island Museum of History, 233 South 3rd Street and at the following Island locations:
• Amelia Island Visitors Center in the Old Train Depot, 102 Centre Street
• Peterbrooke Chocolatier (near Publix), 1427 Sadler Rd.
• The PlantationShop (Palmetto Walk Shopping Center), 4828 First Coast Hwy.
See the Tickets Tab to purchase online.
Prices: $25 before December 5; $30 on days of the tour. For more information and group rates of 10 or more guests call the Museum at 904-261-7378 x 105.
Parking available at the Museum or on the streets surrounding each home. Free trolley service provided to all venues.
Don’t Miss This Added Attraction
Breakfast & Blooms at Cafe Karibo, 27 North 3rd Street: Served at 9 a.m. sharp on both dates of the Tour. Plan to arrive by 8:45 a.m.
Start your day off right. Enjoy a fun and unique culinary experience inside a charming
historic building in downtown Fernandina Beach where an eclectic palette of colors and
furnishings provide a relaxed ambiance. Brooke Grubb Raulerson of Artistic Florist will
be creating holiday arrangements to be won by lucky diners.
Tickets: Available from the Amelia Island Museum of History and online.
(See the Tickets Tab.)
Photography by Elizabeth Wilkes